Home Memorial Statues

Memorial Statues

Three bronze, life-size statues of suffrage leaders will be included in the memorial, Alice Paul, co-founder of the National Woman’s Party and author of the Equal Rights Amendment; Mary Church Terrell, co-founder of the NAACP and professor; and Carrie Chapman Catt, President of the National American Woman Suffrage Association and founder of the League of Women Voters.

These statues are being donated by the National Suffrage Centennial Commission.  In April 2017, Congress passed legislation to create the Commission “to ensure a suitable observance of the centennial of the passage and ratification of the 19th Amendment to the Constitution of the United States providing for women’s suffrage.” The Turning Point Suffragist Memorial Association is most grateful for the Commission’s support.