Home Suffragists in Alaska

Suffragists in Alaska

Governor Walter E. Clark, Juneau: Signed woman suffrage legislation as one of the first acts by the Territory of Alaska in 1913 without a suffrage campaign.

Cornelia Templeton Hatcher, Knik, Hatcher Pass: Organized the woman suffrage petition and took it to the Alaskan territorial legislature for their first session.

Lena Morrow Lewis, Unknown City:Socialist Party organizer, included suffrage in her 1912 campaign for Alaska Congressional Delegate, raising the visibility of the issue in Alaska and contributing to its success here.