Home Suffragists in Nevada

Suffragists in Nevada

Hellen Ann (McKenzie) Lovelock Bonnifield, Winnemucca: Organized the state’s first suffrage convention. She was President of the Humboldt County Equal Suffrage League.

Anne Martin, Reno: As President of Nevada Woman’s Civic League, led successful state suffrage campaign in 1914. First chairman of NWP in 1916. Ran for US Senate 1918. Picketed White House in 1917, sentenced to 60 days in prison, pardoned after three days.

Annie Martin, Reno: Legislative chairman for Congressional Union and NWP, member of NWP executive committee, vice chairman of NWP.