Home Suffragists in Oklahoma

Suffragists in Oklahoma

Minnie (Keith) Bailey, Enid: She was president of the Enid Suffrage Association and one of the Vice-Presidents of the Oklahoma Woman’s Suffrage Association

Kate H. Biggers, Unknown City: Worked in Woman Suffrage Association of Oklahoma and Indian Territory.

Mary M. (Crapsey) Harvey, Wyandotte:  Active member of the Indian Women’s Woman Suffrage League. She served as auditor for the first and second conventions of the Equal Suffrage Association of Oklahoma and Indian territories. She represented Indian Territory at the woman’s suffrage convention held in Baltimore, Maryland, in February 1906.

Katherine Pierce, Oklahoma City: She helped ensure passage of the Nineteenth Amendment to the U.S. Constitution in the state legislature.

Kate Stafford, Oklahoma City: Picketed the White House in 1917, arrested, tried, sentenced, and incarcerated.

Adelia C. Stephens, Oklahoma City: President of Oklahoma Woman’s Suffrage Association who lobbied the legislature in 1917, which submitted the question to voters.

Julia (Lovelace) Woodworth, Oklahoma City:  Held numerous offices in Oklahoma Woman’s Suffrage Association. March 1919, she stated “every woman should vote… They want to vote but they don’t know how to get about it.”